Cheap and easy almond milk

It’s finally fall!  Which means we are in the mood for cheap, healthy, easy afternoon snacks, and also fighting off our seasonal sniffles.  Which means more warm beverages and less dairy in this family.

Welcome homemade almond milk.  I started making it a few years ago but was turned off by the blanching and straining and how time-consuming the whole process was.  Then I realized that almond butter has already been processed in a way similar to cooking and grinding – could I use that?

I did.  It worked and I used this recipe for quite a while.  Then it separated into a thin white liquid and chunks at the bottom.  Great if I drank it in the first 5 minutes, but I wanted something I could save for a few days.  So I checked out a few other recipes, and looked at the ingredients on my favorite store-bought almond milk, and tried adding lecithin (an emulsifier) and tapioca (makes it creamier).

Since then, I have dropped the tapioca, but kept the lecithin.  I love how it now keeps it from separating, and allows for a super-creamy drink that will keep in the fridge for a few days as well.

Ingredients:

2 tbsps creamy almond butter

3 capsules lecithin (the outside of the capsule melts and blends into the liquid)

1.5 quarts warm water

 

  1. Heat one liter of water to about 100 degrees F.  Pour in a large blender such as a Vitamix.
  2. Add lecithin and almond butter
  3. Blend for 30 seconds on high until smooth and creamy
  4. Add last 2 cups (half a liter) of water
  5. Adjust flavor as desired with vanilla, cinnamon, or pumpkin pie spice (my fave in the fall)
  6. Serve hot or cold.  Keeps in the fridge for at least 3 days – but my kids usually drink ours up within the first 24 hours!

img_3022

Here’s what I love about this recipe:

Cheap:  $0.42 for the almond butter, $.15 for the lecithin and it makes 1.5 liters. 
Healthy: almonds are rich in calcium, potassium, and healthy fats – making this a good beverage for getting those electrolytes pre or post-workout.  Lecithin supplements come primarily from soy or sunflower, but lecithin is naturally also in eggs and certain veggies.  One of lecithin’s key components is choline, which helps maintain healthy cell and brain function.  

Tasty!  I serve it hot or cold, with or without cinnamon, vanilla, and honey.  Hope you enjoy it too!

Leave a Reply

