oatmeal breakfast scones

oatmeal sconesA fresh scone, good jam, and a cup of tea.  To me, that is about the perfect way to start the day, and after trying this recipe, my kids seem to agree!

Somehow I ended up with a Canadian Lentils recipe book, and when I saw this recipe I knew I just had to try it.

I did tweak it a bit because following recipes exactly just isn’t my thing; and then I tried a few other variations, and I have a couple more in mind but so far I haven’t hit a bad variation yet so I’ll just share them all with you!

First, in order to make this quickly, you have to have red lentils on hand.  HEB sells them in the international isle.  I cook up a big batch, separate out what I want for this and the pumpkin bread recipe, and then add chicken stock, cumin, coriander, cilantro, and fresh spinach to the rest.  Served over rice it’s a cheap/quick/health/filling meal.  But I digress.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup cooked red lentils (1/2 a cup works well too)

11/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 cups whole-grain white wheat flour (or regular whole wheat flour)ingredients

1 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1/4 cup sugar

1 Tbsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup butter, cut into little pieces

1/4 cup coconut oil

1 1/2 cup milk with 1 tbsp vinegar mixed in (set aside to turn into “buttermilk”)

3/4 cup jam (I like E.D. Smith’s raspberry cherry apple from Costco)

1) mix vinegar and milk; set aside

2)preheat oven to 375 degrees.

3) combine dry ingredients in a bowl, blend with a fork

cute little helpers make it more fun!
cute little helpers make it more fun!  You can see the leftover lentils that I’m about to add…

4) Using a pastry cutter or food processor, combine butter and coconut oil with dry ingredients.

Add vanilla to “buttermilk”, then stir in the milk mixture and lentils until just blended.

FullSizeRender

5)  Divide in 2 parts.  Place parchment paper on a cookie sheet, lightly flour it, then make one giant rectangle, about 9×12.  Spread jam on top, then gently drop small pieces of the remainder on top of the jam until they are evenly spaced and you can lightly smoosh them together.  Sprinkle a tbsp of sugar on top if desired.

6) Place in oven and bake for about 35 minutes, or until edges are lightly browned and middle starts to crack and look done.various ways to cut scones

7) Allow to cool at least for 10 minutes, then cut into thirds.  Alternate the angle you cut to make triangles, or just keep the knife straight for biscotti-style scones.  I prefer making 24 servings, 8 slices per third.

Leave a Reply

