“I love winter” hot cocoa

ingredients
ingredients

One of my favorite things to do on a cold winter morning is to sit in front of the fireplace with cups of hot cocoa and read Bible stories to the kids.  I won’t pretend this is healthy, but it is a delicious way to warm up these cold winter mornings when spring seems to elude us and the freezing temps come back again and again.

I love the convenience of hot cocoa mixes, but then I looked at the ingredients.  Artificial flavors and colors?  hydrogenated oils?  I can do better than that.

So I started mixing my own, but it didn’t seem to dissolve as well, and I don’t have much patience at 6:15 in the morning.

Then I visited The Chocolate Bar and had their European hot cocoa.  It was like a taste of heaven.  Smooth.  Rich.  Wow.  I asked them how they did it, and they said they used real chocolate, not just powder.  The secret ingredient.

Ingredients:

1/4 cup chocolate chips (I love the Kirkland brand)

1/4 cup cocoa powder (HEB’s is the best)

1/4 cup sugar (I like evaporated cane juice, but white or coconut also work)

1 tsp vanilla

1/4 tsp sea salt

almost 2 cups milk

Place chocolate chips in a microwave proof bowl, and add enough milk to bring it to the 1/2 cup line.  Melt the chips and stir.  Add cocoa and sugar, stir.  Add remaining ingredients, then fill up to the 2 cup line with milk.  This is your concentrated hot cocoa mix.  I dilute it 1 part to 2 parts milk for the kids, or enjoy it straight and rich in a little espresso cup.  When serving, it mixes beautifully with cold milk that can be heated to the desired temperature.  Then topped with whipped cream or marshmallows or a dash of peppermint extract.  

Enjoy!

One thought on ““I love winter” hot cocoa

Leave a Reply

