Homemade Bread – machine style!

IMG_1204

I love bread, and I really love making it.  I love when the dough hits just the right texture while I am kneading it, I love watching my kids play with the dough and roll it into fun little shapes.  But I am really loving the convenience of my new breadmaker in this season of life…ie, running errands and living life with three preschoolers and summer temperatures between 80 and 100.  Anyone else feel a little reluctant to turn on the oven when it’s hot outside?

But back to bread.

I recently bought the Breadman TR2700 online for a smoking deal.  I had a sweet little Sunbeam bread maker 5 years ago that worked OK for white bread but didn’t have the oomph to do much whole wheat.  This one does.  And my Sunbeam decided to jump off the counter a couple times, cracking the exterior and shaking the interior just enough that I was nervous to use the bake function.

We have been making bread 2-3 times a week, usually eating most of it for lunch and dinner the first day, breakfast the second, and french toast the third if any is left.  I have only made the 2-pound loaves since we eat it well before it gets stale.  I did try the quick whole wheat cycle one time and didn’t get quite as good of a rise so it wasn’t as fluffy, but it did make great sandwich bread.

For both of these recipes I just dump everything into the breadmaker in the order listed, set the menu on whole wheat 2lb, and then press the add fruits and nuts button if needed before pressing start.

Sweet Bread with craisins and walnuts

1 egg, beat until smooth

1 1/4  cups water

3 tbsps coconut oil

2 tbsps honey

2 tbsps sugar

2 tsp salt

1 cup bread flour (I prefer King Arthur)

3 cups whole grain white wheat flour (I have been using Azure Standard, but I bet that either King Arthur, Gold Medal, or any other brand of hard white wheat should work)

2 1/4 tsp yeast

To the Fruit/Nut Dispenser add 2 tbsps craisins, 3 tbsps finely chopped walnuts.  Make sure the bottom is closed before dumping it in the top.  Yep.  I’ve already make that mistake.

Pepita and Sunflower Seed Bread

1 egg, beat until smooth

1 1/4  cups water

3 tbsps canola or olive oil

2 tbsps honey

1 tbsp sugar

2 tsp salt

1 cup bread flour (I prefer King Arthur)

3 cups whole grain white wheat flour (I have been using Azure Standard, but I bet that either King Arthur, Gold Medal, or any other brand of hard white wheat should work)

2 1/4 tsp yeast

1 1/2 tbsps sunflower seeds

1 1/2 tbsps pepitas

I usually store my bread cut-side down on a wooden cutting board with a linen cloth over it for the first day, then keep it in a ziploc bag in the fridge afterwards.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

