Overnight Oats for Breakfast

Breakfast. Don’t we all want something quick, healthy, easy to clean up, and ideally it tastes good too? We do a fair amount of oatmeal in our home. In the winter I like it hot, and in the summer we eat granola. When I stumbled on a recipe for bircher muesli I had to try it! I’m a huge fan of soaking grains, especially for my little ones who may not be chewing their granola fully and not getting all the nutrients available.
The strawberry sauce was amazing, but without the chia seeds I couldn’t get the oats into a texture I liked. My daughter ate it, my son only took a bite. He’s fairly sensitive to weird textures.  With the chia seeds it was better, but still not quite what I wanted.
Then I saw this recipe on a friend’s Facebook page, so I gave it a whirl. I am loving it. The acid from the yogurt and fruit give the oats just the right texture, and I love the fact that my kids are getting probiotics from the yogurt as well as all the minerals from the oats.  I’ve been adding a tablespoon of chia seeds, and using whatever fruit or homemade jam we have around.  The pictures and instructions on The Yummy Life cover it all, so head over here if you want to try this fabulously quick and healthy breakfast.

Leave a Reply

