Vegetable Venison Soup

I loved vegetable beef soup as a kid; there’s something comforting about it to me. Now that I understand the health benefits of vegetables, barley, and small amounts of red meat I’m an even bigger fan! I used beef broth without msg, caramel coloring, or added salt so that my little ones could get great nutrition without unwanted additives. When I can make my own stock and canned tomato sauce I’ll feel really, really good about this recipe. Last week I came up with this recipe and our family really enjoyed it. Hopefully yours will too!

1lb fully cooked bite-size pieces of venison or beef (I used leftovers from my crockpot venison roast)
1/2 cup mirepoix mix (minced carrots, celery, and onion)
1 qt beef broth
1 can tomato sauce
2 bay leaves
1 tbsp herbs de provence
2 cups dry barley
mixed veggies; frozen, fresh, canned, or leftovers

Sautee mirepoix in olive oil in a dutch oven or heavy pot. Add broth and tomato sauce. Simmer for one hour, then add herbs and barley. Simmer for 20 minutes, add veggies, and continue simmering until veggies are heated through. Serve with a loaf of bread, salad, or crackers and cheese.

Leave a Reply

