pizza!

I believe I just found my ultimate pizza recipe.  Inspired by my March 2012 Bon Appetit magazine, I decided to follow their pizza crust recipe.  With a few changes, of course.

1 cup white flour

2 cups red (regular) whole wheat flour

4.5 cups hard white wheat flour (I purchased mine from azure standard)

4 tsps salt (it was a bit salty –  I think I’ll do 3 next time)

1/2 tsp active dry yeast

Pour all ingredients in Kitchenaid bowl and blend.  Add 2 cups of lukewarm water while slowly mixing.  switch to dough hook, and add one more cup of warm water.  Knead with hook for 3 minutes.  Dough will be very wet and sticky.

Cover with plastic wrap and allow to rise until doubled, about 6 hours in a 78-degree kitchen with Houston humidity.

Add a handful of flour, punch down, and divide into 4 balls.  Follow the rest of bon appetit’s recipe here.

I  topped with mozzarella cheese, a bit of barilla spaghetti sauce, some canned diced tomatoes, frozen spinach, herbs de provence, and sprinkling of grated pecorino romano cheese.  I tried it using a baking sheet and a pizza stone, and both turned out great!  The second pizza was good too – I just added some sautéed peppers and onions in lieu of the spinach.  As for dough balls 3 and 4, I turned one into a loaf of yummy herb bread (baked a 350 for about 35 minutes) and will probably try to make a calzone out of the other for lunch later this week.Image

Leave a Reply

