New Year’s nutrition revolution, or resolve to make sustainable changes?

I have a love-hate relationship with New Year’s resolutions. I love the fresh start, the new beginning that a new year gives us. However, I also know deep down that many of these good intentions are destined for failure come February. Instead of planning a major “revolution” of my eating habits in 2011, my goal is to maintain two healthy habits from last year and start two small new ones.

From 2010: 1) feed my family more whole grains than enriched/white products, and 2) eat at least one green vegetable a day. I think I was pretty successful in keeping these from last year because they are simple, memorable, and measurable – all keys to an achievable goal.

I worked on goal 1 by eating oatmeal, granola, or homemade, whole-wheat waffles for breakfast, buying 100% whole wheat bread when I don’t make it from scratch, and choosing whole-grain couscous, brown rice, or yams as a starch for dinner. As for veggies, I make a habit of getting the fresh spinach from Costco as well as stocking up on lots of green frozen veggies – spinach salad or steamed veggies are both quick and easy green sides.

My goals for 2011: 1) Find a fabulous lentil soup recipe. I’m open to suggestions! 2) Simplify dinner prep to less than 20 minutes of hands-on time, most days of the week.

One thought on “New Year’s nutrition revolution, or resolve to make sustainable changes?

Leave a Reply

