Children Who Often Drink Full-fat Milk Weigh Less, Swedish Research Finds

Children Who Often Drink Full-fat Milk Weigh Less, Swedish Research Finds.

 

Like many others, I have often told people the “2% milk by 2 years of age” guideline…but it seems like research is starting to tell a different story.  In 2003 I remember hearing a presentation on foods associated with obesity, and surprisingly enough, people that ate ice cream once a week or so were thinner than those that never  or rarely enjoyed this treat.  That got me thinking.  Another study in 2005 indicated that people who eat more full-fat dairy products (up to 4 servings a day) were less likely to get colorectal cancer.  Is it the CLA?  Something else?  I know for my active 2 yo son, I’m still buying the whole milk for him and making full-fat yogurt…and I’ve gone back to real butter rather than margarine for some of our cooking (I still use more canola and grapeseed oil than anything else.)  I’m definitely looking forward to more research on the relationship between milk fat and cancer, obesity, and even diabetes!

 

One thought on “Children Who Often Drink Full-fat Milk Weigh Less, Swedish Research Finds

Leave a Reply

