Split It, Save It, Toss It

Before I begin I have a confession to make:  I love chocolate.  I could eat chocolate every day, multiple times a day, and lots of it throughout the day.

It was my birthday recently, and of all the restaurants in Houston I decided to celebrate at The Chocolate Bar.  For those of you who have not had the good fortune to go there yet, it is truly a chocolate lover’s paradise with chocolate candies, ice cream, cake, and other chocolatey confections. 

OK, so why is a blog about nutrition including a post on a most un-nutritious eating establishment?  I won’t even attempt to justify it by claiming dark chocolate is chock-full of healthy antioxidants (even though it really is.)  I admit my excursion to chocolate heaven because I firmly believe that every diet has to have a little flex room in order to keep nutrition simple.  And the guideline for splurging can be summed up in one word:  moderation.  And at The Chocolate Bar where portions are anything but moderate, I got to practice my split/save/toss rule of thumb. 

For starters, we Split the chocolate cake and cookies, and then Saved some of the cake for dessert the next day  The ice cream wouldn’t have made it back home so we had to Toss some of it.  It worked out well – we all were able to sample a variety of the delicious goodies, some of us enjoyed it again the next day, and nobody had to go home feeling sick from eating too much chocolate.  And as much as I hate to admit it, it is possible to eat too much chocolate, even for a chocolate lover like me.  It is hard to discipline myself to eat just a little of such good food, but it is well worth the effort because it allows me to enjoy outings like this, and then to savor both the memories and the flavors of those foods again the next day. 

Leave a Reply

